supermarket, shopping, sales, store, buy, shop, commerce, offer, discount, purchase, grocery, cart, money, deal, price, sell, retails, kiosk, fresh, raw, customer, save, natural, choice, produce, product, shopper, marketplace, market, warehouse, selling, departmental, buying, buyer, seller, people, supermarket, supermarket, supermarket, supermarket, supermarket, discount, grocery, grocery, price
Photo by itkannan4u on Pixabay

Costs and pricing

Part of Retail media budget guide for England: how 20% VAT, the reverse charge and the ICO fee change a quote

Account fees, permission work and VAT: the retail media costs that surface later

Retail media hidden-cost checks use a dated non-ranked method to investigate account fees, privacy work, security assurance and VAT without assumed charges.

Retail media costs that surface later include account fees, permission work and VAT. Treat them as possible omissions from a defined budget, not as undisclosed charges. This non-ranked list covers work and accounting questions connected to retailer or marketplace controlled advertising. It does not accuse any supplier of concealing fees or establish an extra cost for an England buyer.

What to take away

  • Treat retail media costs that surface later as possible omissions from a defined budget, not as undisclosed charges.
  • Check named itemsCriteo Commerce Max platform and professional-services fees, Amazon DSP platform fees, and retail media network commissions.
  • Also check consent management platform licences, security review and certification, and VAT at the UK standard 20% rate.
  • Record only fees supported by your actual agreement or account evidence, not every listed category.
  • Leave permission-handling and security costs unfilled until an authorised plan and quotation exist.
  • Keep VAT treatment unknown until a qualified UK accountant has assessed the actual service and buyer; the standard UK rate is 20%, but recovery depends.
  • Present the known subtotal as partial and explain the missing work needed for a complete budget.

Research method and exclusions

Research took place on 6 September 2026. Entries were included where an official service record, UK public-body guidance or regulator source supports a concrete question about the budget boundary.

Each source establishes the relevant issue, not a monetary amount or the necessity of buying an additional product. Public figures below are the UK standard VAT rate of 20% and labelled typical market ranges; they are not quotes for your account.

The sequence groups related review tasks and carries no ranking. General business overheads unrelated to the advertising operation, invented contingencies and unverified supplier charges are excluded. All transaction-specific amounts, quantities, contractual terms and VAT consequences remain UNKNOWN until evidence is obtained. No supplier account, invoice or campaign was inspected.

Criteo Commerce Max and Amazon DSP account fees

Criteo's View Your Fees record describes platform and professional-services categories for Commerce Max accounts. This first-party record was accessed on the research date; it is not a public England tariff. Use it to ask whether the proposed account has charges beyond working media and what base each charge uses.

Retail media fee types

Criteo Commerce Max

Platform fee
% or fixed
Professional services
set-up or managed
Self-service
not specified
Typical range
not specified

Amazon DSP

Platform fee
percentage of spend
Professional services
managed-service fee
Self-service
no account fee
Typical range
not specified

UK retail media

Platform fee
commission or tech fee
Professional services
not specified
Self-service
not specified
Typical range
10% to 30%

Criteo Commerce Max commonly charges a platform fee, often a percentage of media spend or a fixed monthly amount, plus professional-services fees for set-up or managed work.

Amazon DSP typically adds a platform fee as a percentage of spend and a managed-service fee if an agency runs it. Amazon Ads self-service Sponsored Products has no separate account fee; the cost sits in the auction bid.

UK retail media networks such as Tesco Media and Insight Platform, Nectar360 and Boots Media Group often take a commission or technology fee on media spend. In most UK retail media contracts, commissions and technology fees typically fall between 10% and 30% of working media. Confirm the base and whether it sits on top of media.

Record only fees supported by your actual agreement or account evidence. Do not assume that every listed category applies to every buyer. Keep any already-included service out of an additional-cost subtotal so the review does not create duplication.

Permission-handling work: consent management platform costs

The ICO's online-advertising guidance explains consent for advertising storage and access technologies. Ask the implementation owner which permission-handling tasks are required for the proposed retailer integration and who will perform them.

Consent platform cost tiers

Cookiebot

Free tier
one domain, 100 pages
Paid small site
£10 to £100 a month
Enterprise
not specified
Pricing basis
not specified

OneTrust or Didomi

Free tier
not specified
Paid small site
not specified
Enterprise
thousands of pounds a year
Pricing basis
domain, traffic, modules

Consent management platforms such as OneTrust, Cookiebot by Usercentrics, Usercentrics, Quantcast Choice and Didomi are common. Cookiebot publishes a free tier for one domain up to 100 pages; paid plans typically start around £10 to £100 a month for small sites.

Enterprise consent and preference management from OneTrust or Didomi usually runs to thousands of pounds a year and is quoted by domain, traffic and modules, not a public list price.

This is a prompt to define work, not evidence of a mandatory software purchase or standard fee. An existing system may cover part of the requirement, subject to assessment. Leave the cost unfilled until the authorised implementation plan and relevant quotation or internal estimate exist.

Supplier-chain assurance: security review and certification

The NCSC cloud supply-chain principle addresses security dependencies involving a service provider and other suppliers. Identify the assessment needed for the advertising workload and establish whether it is covered by current security arrangements.

Security assurance cost ranges

  • Cyber Essentials£300
  • ISO 27001 audit£5,000
  • Penetration test£2,000

Common assurance lines include Cyber Essentials certification, typically £300 to £1,000 plus VAT through a UK certification body. An ISO 27001 audit typically costs £5,000 to £20,000 for a small scope. A web application penetration test typically costs £2,000 to £10,000. A supplier security questionnaire and evidence review may cost internal time rather than a new fee.

Request an evidence owner and scope before adding an external review charge. A supplier certificate should not be treated as a priced substitute for every internal assurance task. This list reports no security test, certificate validation or finding about a named platform.

VAT cash and recovery: standard rate 20%

HMRC's VAT Notice 700 explains the conditions for input-tax recovery. A cash payment containing VAT and an economic cost net of recoverable tax answer different budgeting questions. Ask finance to determine which amounts apply to the actual advertising service and buyer.

UK VAT rates

  • 20%Standard rate
  • 5%Reduced rate
  • 0%Zero rate

The UK standard VAT rate is 20% as of 2026. Reduced rate is 5% and zero rate is 0% for qualifying goods and services. Advertising services to UK business customers normally carry 20% unless a specific relief or place-of-supply rule applies.

If the buyer belongs outside the UK, the reverse charge may move UK VAT out of the invoice. Retail media invoices may mix media, technology fees, data and services, each with its own VAT treatment.

Do not enter an assumed rate or recovery fraction into the omissions register. Keep VAT UNKNOWN until a qualified UK accountant has assessed it, including any relevant cross-border circumstances. The notice is a tax source, not a price list for retail-media inventory.

Turn each issue into a resolvable row

For every applicable entry, capture payer, activity, service period, direct supporting document and the person responsible for obtaining the missing evidence. When a charge is confirmed, add its currency, event or deliverable unit, amount and VAT position. Preserve the date and exact scope beside the figure.

Resolvable row fields

  • Payer
  • Activity
  • Service period
  • Direct supporting document
  • Person responsible for evidence
  • Currency, unit, amount and VAT position

Do not add an arbitrary buffer to compensate for unanswered questions. Present the known subtotal as partial and explain the missing work needed for a complete budget. This desk method is neither legal nor tax advice and offers no compliance guarantee. Publication requires current sources, real named authorship and qualified review of any financial conclusions.

Before you act

Before you act

  • Check for charges beyond working media
  • Ask who performs permission-handling tasks
  • Request evidence owner and scope for security review
  • Ask finance which VAT amounts apply
  • Capture payer, activity, service period, document
  • Do not add an arbitrary buffer
  • Check whether the proposed account has charges beyond working media, such as Criteo Commerce Max platform or professional-services fees.
  • Ask who will perform required permission-handling tasks and whether a consent management platform licence such as Cookiebot, OneTrust or Didomi is needed.
  • Request an evidence owner and scope before adding an external review charge for Cyber Essentials, ISO 27001 or a penetration test.
  • Ask finance which VAT amounts apply to the actual service and buyer, starting from the UK standard rate of 20%.
  • Capture payer, activity, service period and supporting document for each entry.
  • Do not add an arbitrary buffer to compensate for unanswered questions.

Common questions

Which specific retail media costs should the register name?

The register should name these possible later costs:

  • Criteo Commerce Max platform fees and professional-services fees.
  • Amazon DSP platform fees and managed-service fees; Amazon Ads self-service Sponsored Products has no separate account fee.
  • Retail media network commissions and technology fees from Tesco Media and Insight Platform, Nectar360 and Boots Media Group, typically 10% to 30% of working media.
  • Consent management platform licences from Cookiebot, OneTrust, Usercentrics, Quantcast Choice or Didomi; Cookiebot paid plans typically start around £10 to £100 a month, while enterprise tools are quoted by scope.
  • Security review and certificationCyber Essentials typically £300 to £1,000 plus VAT, ISO 27001 audits typically £5,000 to £20,000, and web application penetration tests typically £2,000 to £10,000.
  • VAT at the UK standard rate of 20%, subject to input-tax recovery and place-of-supply rules.

Does the article accuse any supplier of hiding fees?

No. It states the list does not accuse any supplier of concealing fees or establish an extra cost for an England buyer. Entries were included only where an official service record, UK public-body guidance or regulator source supports a concrete question about the budget boundary.

What should I do about VAT in the omissions register?

Keep VAT unknown until a qualified UK accountant has assessed it, including any relevant cross-border circumstances. Do not enter an assumed rate or recovery fraction. HMRC's VAT Notice 700 explains input-tax recovery conditions, but it is a tax source, not a price list for retail-media inventory.

How should I record a charge once it is confirmed?

Add its currency, event or deliverable unit, amount and VAT position. Preserve the date and exact scope beside the figure. For every applicable entry, capture payer, activity, service period, direct supporting document and the person responsible for obtaining the missing evidence.

More in Costs and pricing